This recipe is sweet and simple.  For all of you non-bakers out there, this one is for you.  I had a jar of nutella in my cupboard that we just couldn’t bring ourselves to spread on bread.  This is one Bavarian custom we have not become accustomed to, so I began a search for a recipe to use it up.  I found these no-bake nutella cookies and thought I would give them a try.

The recipe was simple in number of ingredients, simple in method, and delicious too!  So I must share it especially as the weather warms up and we are less inclined to “fire up” our ovens.

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar

1/4 cup cocoa

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup butter

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup nutella

1 tsp vanilla

pinch of salt

4 cups rolled oats

Method:

Over medium heat bring the butter, sugar, cocoa, vanilla and milk to a boil and then remove it from the heat.  Now add in your nutella and peanut butter and mix until they are melted and well combined with the other ingredients.  Finally add your oats and salt (some coconut might taste nice as well) and mix until everything is put together.  Mix to a consistency where you can drop tablespoonfuls on a cookie sheet and it all stays together.  (I hope that makes sense).

I dropped mine on with a tablespoon onto parchment paper.  Since I have a small European fridge I took mine outside on the terrace to cool, but I also left a batch inside to test the difference once they were cooled.  I will say I liked the cookies cooled outside better as they were a little firmer but it is up to you.  If you have a large North American fridge you can probably cool them in your fridge and even store them in there too!

Enjoy!  These are so simple and delicious.  I would venture to say you could freeze some and take them out when you like.  The recipe makes so many that we shared them with our neighbors.  They were a lovely accompaniment to my earl grey tea in the evening and the oats made me feel a little less guilty about eating them.